Blog Post #6: Service Learning

  1. The article by Maylan Dunn-Kenney proposes a case study observing behavior and relationships between the participants and children of this study. The participants in this study are graduate students (all female, with different undergraduate backgrounds), whose duties are to travel to poor communities to organize and perform service activities — hopefully to improve the quality of a place with a reputation of frequent physical violence. At the end of this study, Dunn sits down with the participants to gather and evaluate each of their thoughts and experiences about the study. According to the article, “many students apparently learned a great deal from their work at the partnership center. On the other hand, this assignment also resulted in significant student resistance” (Dunn-Kenney 41). Many of the students had predisposed stereotypes going into this service, which is why they questioned whether or not the site was  safe, even though no violent disturbances occurred. Once actually immersed in the service, students expressed their surprise when they observed students’ behavior. One student, Jamie, who organized the Peace Fair, said many of the children were excited and willing to participate on a rainy day. In her service log she wrote: “I was definitely shocked at how little the children had. I told myself these children need you today so try to put all that aside and make a difference in a child’s life today” (Dunn-Kenney 42). Another student mentioned her experience with teaching children manners. She was impressed with how quickly and easily the children listened and modeled after her. Both of these encounters proved their cultural bias wrong and opened their minds to a new perspective.
  2. My service takes place at Marion-Sterling Elementary School in Cleveland (Carroll Reads). I tutor 1st-2nd graders with reading and writing skills on Monday and Wednesday afternoons. I first heard of this service from my friend, a former Carroll Reads tutor, expressing her concern with how behind these children are in literacy skills for their age. Since this school is the the inner city, it’s understood that the administration may not have the best resources for each student to learn efficiently. I chose to do this service because I want to make a difference in the lives of children who need it the most. Although I believe every student deserves an equal opportunity in education, realistically it is hard to achieve that. There are rich communities that continue to get richer, and poor communities that continue to get poorer.
  3. Each time spent at service is a new learning experience for both the students and myself. I am able to gain teaching skills that will prepare me for the future while the child learns skills to better their reading and writing. I cherish my time spent here because of the meaningful relationships I have formed with each of my students. Each session, I sense the children becoming more open and comfortable towards me, acting as both a tutor and mentor/safe place for them to express their feelings.
  4. My service has opened up my mind to be more self aware and immersed in my surroundings. My experience at an inner-city school has exposed me to a whole new world of education. Growing up, I was always fortunate enough to receive a distinct education at top ranked schools. Now getting just a little taste of how these children grow, I understand that this is all they know. It is tough to think about how there are kids, the same age as them, receiving a much more prominent education in another town over because that area is wealthy and this area is not. I learned to not take my education for granted, especially simple skills like writing and reading. I understand that this may not come easy for everyone due to lack of resources or poor teaching.

Leave a comment